Dynamo Can't find "end Join Cutback" Parameter

hello, I’m relatively new to Dynamo

I’m trying to modify an Elements “End/Start Join Cutback” parameter, but when using “set Parameter By Name” Node, it doesn’t seem to find that parameter.

I have also been trying to access that parameter using the python scripts but I didn’t manage to find it there.

Any help would be appreciated

Hi @Omer4ZWBQ and welcome.

Which category of elements are you using?

Can you post a Picture of you graph? Also unfold the results of each node so we can see the progress.

This is the graph, evidently these elements have a parameter by that name I can modify only through Revit

edit: I just discovered a new development. after I’ve ran the Dynamo code once and get that error, I can run the Dynamo code again, and then it (sometimes) works. that is a temporary solution of course, I need my Dynamo to operate without needing to step into it and double running it hoping it will work.

It would help us if we could see the entire graph :slight_smile:

Apologies but there are way too many nodes to show the entire graph

You should be able to show the entire graph by zooming in until the nodes are readable and then pressing the camera button in Dynamo

I see, thank you, here is the entire graph

Hi @Omer, I see the problem. Your Families (Structural Framing’s) dont have the Parameter in them. I think, based on the “Start Join Cutback”, that you mean the parameter “Start Extension” and “End Extension”. These are default parameters in Structural Framing Families which control the Geometric Extension of the Families.

You might want to select one of the Elements and check its parameters. Please make a screenshot of it just like below: