Delete RVT links entirely from Revit file

I am trying to create a Dynamo script that will open a Revit file (in the background), remove all Revit links from that file, and then save over that current Revit file.

I can find all link types & instances and delete them, but they remain in the Manage Links browser, and thus still need to be temporarily upgraded whenever the host files are upgraded.

I cannot find anything online that discusses removing Revit links (deleting the linked files entirely from the host file). Everything I find online discusses removing the elements or instances.

Is this something the Revit API can do?

Thanks in advance

Edit: I am still very new at Dynamo, and do not have any Python experience. So if Python is the solution, I will need a step by step on how to implement it

1 Like

This should help you get started: Remove RVT links - #11 by Ben_Barfoot

@Zack_C , @jacob.small ,

Hi,

I just come until here:

import clr
import sys
clr.AddReference('RevitAPI')
from Autodesk.Revit.DB import *
from Autodesk.Revit.DB.Structure import *

clr.AddReference('RevitAPIUI')
from Autodesk.Revit.UI import *

clr.AddReference('System')
from System.Collections.Generic import List

clr.AddReference('RevitNodes')
import Revit
clr.ImportExtensions(Revit.GeometryConversion)
clr.ImportExtensions(Revit.Elements)

clr.AddReference('RevitServices')
import RevitServices
from RevitServices.Persistence import DocumentManager
from RevitServices.Transactions import TransactionManager

doc = DocumentManager.Instance.CurrentDBDocument
uidoc=DocumentManager.Instance.CurrentUIApplication.ActiveUIDocument

# The inputs to this node will be stored as a list in the IN variables.
linkInstances = FilteredElementCollector(doc).OfClass(RevitLinkInstance).ToElements()

OUT = linkInstances

So for deleting a linked file i need there ID but which one? Revit ID, unique Id, TypeID?

how do i remove it via for loop, or can i “clean up” my variable to None ?