Creating sheets along the alignment using dynamo

Hi,

I am working on alignment preparation in civil 3d which involves alignment plan production in multiple layouts since alignments are usually stretched over tens of kilometers.

I want to automate this layout and sheet preparation task using dynamo. The requirements include:
sheet preparation with plan view,
Using custom layout template,
Adding some common blocks or layouts to every sheet,
Adding drawing numbers to sheet using excel inputs etc.

Please let me know how can i get started with this.

@jacob.small …can you please suggest something on this? If any resource or anything is there which can help. It would be highly appreciated.

What have you tried so far?

Actually I am new to the Dynamo platform so there is no clue as of now. Please suggest some resources or already available scripts which can be customised or anything like that which can help me to start.

Well, it’s always a learning curve.
Have you checked the Dynamo primer? It’s a good start to learn more about Dynamo.

We have made some progress on this front.

I would consider this workflow pretty difficult.

The idea is to reverse engineer the plan and production template. Only you don’t need the external .dwt to drive layouts.

I think there are some bugs associated with creating the viewports
I also think there are some bugs associated with editing existing viewports.

I would love to have a more focused discussion with a civil group to strategize on this workflow.

All that is to say…if you are working on a paying job with a deadline, I think you would fail trying to be more efficient with dynamo on this task.

If you have plenty of time, I can share a few dynamos with you…just DM me.

Sure…I’ll DM you

Not something I have handy, but I am 90% certain it would be fairly easy… few questions first:

1. How common a need is this?
  2. Is this something you do often (1x a project, 10x? 20x?)?