Creating Polyline offset from Alignment

Hi all,
Very new Dynamo user here. I am a bridge engineer in MA trying to find ways that my team can automate or at least speed up some of our design / drafting tasks. We use AutoCAD C3D pretty exclusively (i.e., we do not use Revit at all) - it’s what our clients use and require that we use.

I think creating framing plans of our bridges might be something that Dynamo could help with, but I’m having trouble figuring out the first step. The first thing we usually do after getting the alignment from our highway team is to offset it to create the outer “edge of deck” lines, and then figure out the girder spacing between those lines. So, what I really want to do is figure out how to offset an alignment (creating a polyline) between two stations. Any help or ideas on how to do this would be greatly appreciated!

1 Like

Checkout @mzjensen recent example which might be similar application.

Hi @betsy.kirtland,

If you haven’t already done so, the first thing you should do is download the Civil 3D Toolkit package. It has several additional nodes that make Dynamo much more usable in Civil 3D, including a node to create polylines.

Here is an example for you to try as you get going.

BridgePolylines.dwg (956.1 KB)
BridgePolylines.dyn (97.6 KB)

6 Likes

Thanks, @KirkWM, but I don’t think this is quite what I’m looking for. I am hoping to avoid using Excel for this purpose.

Thank you, @mzjensen !! This seems to be exactly what I’m looking for. Much appreciated!

@mzjensen if you have a moment, could you explain to me why the “get planes at bridge start and end” and “intersect with offset curves” are necessary? I can understand every other part of the code except for those. Thanks in advance!

Sure thing. My thought process was to lay out the graph in a similar way to how I would approach the process in Civil 3D. Here’s what that would look like:

1. Offset the alignment to create the girder and deck polylines