Create Parameters in a Revit Family

Hello everyone.

I’m reading about parameters, but I couldn’t find what I really wanted. I want to create parameters in a Family File (.rfa). I’ve found a lot about shared parameters or project parameters, but nothing on how to create a parameter. Is there any way to get and set the formulas of these parameters?
I’m a beginner in Dynamo and Python is still new for me, so I´m trying to look for a solution.

Thank you

My intention is not to change the value of an already existing parameter, but to create a totally new parameter that does not exist in the family yet. I know how to create that if I am in a revit project, but I need to create it in a family archive.

If your answer is a solution to this, I am really sorry but I do not get how. Would you please be so kind to elaborate?
It would help me out a great deal.

Thank you, and have a great day.

Here is one result from the search field that could help to get started:

Here is a current discussion that could also be of help here…

See if these posts can help for this part of your question:

Once you found something useful for your workflow, just send a screenshot of what you tried :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Thanks for your time @Yna_Db

I will do all, I don’t know how to use Python, but I will try.

Thank you again :slight_smile:

Hi @VictorTrevijano,

I also concerned this one and I’ve figured it out couple day ago. (by someone’s code in forum :grinning:)
Very happy, if my work would help you out.

Here is the Python Node

Please use this workflow in Family Edit environment.

6 Likes

@NicoleChuong
Some additional explanation would be useful to quickly understand what you did and where this comes from :slightly_smiling_face:

Hi @VictorTrevijano,

I think the “Rhythm” and “DanEDU” packages could be very useful in this case.

https://forum.dynamobim.com/t/node-to-perform-load-into-project-action/14812/10