Create A Schedule of Filled Region Area

I have been advised to use Dynamo to create a schedule of filled region area, which Revit can’t do. I am completely new to Dynamo and have no idea where to start, I tried a script I found online but got an error messages. Below is image of the 4 filled region I want to schedule the area, I created a project parameter named as Region Area, after I run the script, I got an error message, how should I fix it? Thank you!

I’d suggest looking at the data types coming out of the getparametervaluebyname node to ensure they are all doubles. My guess is one of your detail items that isn’t a filled region may have a parameter called Area which is using text as its data type, which takes precedent over the project parameter.

It looks like the script has worked for those it could apply the parameter to successfully, so somewhere in your list of outcomes there will be some nulls - check what the elements are causing them and investigate their parameters.

I’d also suggest trying my Collect.Regions node from Crumple which will get regions only and not other detail items from the model:

You are probably right. I don’t know enough about Dynamo yet to do the investigation. I started my original project with our firm’s template which included a sample building.

I just redid it with a simple Revit Template and the script seemed to work. But I don’t know how this script can help me create a schedule. I have added a project parameter named as Region Area, but when I tried to start a schedule/quantities, I didn’t see the parameter there, when I tried to create a parameter with the same name, it said a parameter with the same name already exists.

Hello @HLCN are you sure thats a shared parameter

Nope, it is a project parameter. Should I set it as shared parameter?

yeps…if you wanna add it to a schedule

1 Like