Corridor Shape Information

Hi
I am new to dynamo for C3D so apologies if this has been ask’d before, I am wanting to calulate the length of a 3dSolid, as we know C3D only gives the volume, however if we can take the end and start assembly stations and make a small subtraction this will give us the much needed lengths.

This coud then be exprted to csv and the estimators wouldnt have to use the measureing tool in Navis.

Can anyone help, see attached image

Hi @grastar,

Is this what you’re looking for?

GetCorridorSolidLength.dyn (94.6 KB)

Hi mzjensen

Thank you so much, no sure what happen but got some warnings, see attached, there are more then 12 solids as well? I can send the Navis file if that helps as the C3D file is 90MB?

are you allowed to share your email address?

Can you show the beginning of the script? Also please hover over the first warning in the sequence so we can see what it says.

Hi @grastar

Are you interested getting the length using python?

2 Likes

Hi
See attched, do I need to add the individual strings?
CorridorShapeInformation3

Hi Kulkul
Happy to use anything that allows for a collaborative out put of data from a Civils3D model, it would be better if all the 3d solids and there start/end stations and the length calculation can be output into a csv file, this would make it very efficent for our BIM & estimating teams. We have 20+ models that are built in C3D that do not push out the required quantum for expediant 5d BIM. Any help is most appreciated

In that case refer to @mzjensen graph.

That means that there is something going on with the node before it. What is the output of the Corridors node?

Hi
See attached, it captures 12 corridors which is correct

Hi @grastar Just for clarification Corridor.Getsolids node doesn’t create solids like this

it rather select the corridor solids which are already there in drawing. so please create corridor solids in the model and then try to get them in dynamo using above node.

Hope this helps