Copy lenght parameter to text parameter

Hi,

I’m very, very new to Dynamo, but I think that must be my only solution, so I wanna try to ask you.

I need to create a schedule where I can see all specifications for my components, so I can use it as a “bill of material” when ordering. I have this Tap family, PSU, where I can schedule the parameter “size” (green square on picture), but it’s not correct dimensions. The correct dimensions is 450-125.

In stead I want to use D1 and D2, but I cant schedule those two parameters. Are there any way I can get Dynamo to copy those parameters and put them into one single textparameter which I can schedule?

Please remember I am new to Dynamo when explaining.

Hi!
Have you tried using shared parameters for that task?

You can copy the values to a text parameter (more info here: Structure Compound to revit schedule)
But then whenever something changes you’ll need to re-run Dynamo again to update that text parameter.

Hi!

Thanks for your reply :slight_smile:

I have tried to create two new shared parameters, but I’m not sure how to set them up to work properbly. I have made them like this:

But I think I need to make it a text parameter in stead?

It looks like in the linked topic, that you are creating a project parameter and not a shared parameter? Is that the way to do it?

Maybe I’m just not setting it up correctly in Dynamo.

You should add the shared parameters to the family

You can either substiture your existing parameters with shared or just add the shared and tell them to be equal to your existing parameters.
The shared parameters will be able to schedule.

I did that already… tried to make my own family and add the shared parameter to that family, but it just caused that the D1 changed to a wrong number. And when I try to schedule the new parameters they just show up empty.
EDIT: Actually they are not turning up empty, now when I tried again. But the D1 is still wrong.