Compile a list of all linked CAD categories and subcategories (layers)?

I am extremely new to Dynamo and have done hours of searching online for this solution but maybe there is help for me out there? I am looking for way to compile a list of all of the subcategories (layers) of all of the linked CAD files in my revit model. I need to take this cumulative list and either be able to change the graphic/visibility overrides on a global scale (ie - hide the layer “ROOMNU” in each linked file of the model) so I can save these settings as part of a view template. If saving as a view template is not possible I’d be OK with exporting this list of layers to Excel and making the changes and exporting it back into the dynamo file.

Without this, for each view template that I set up where the linked files are acting as underlays, I have to scroll through over 100 layers (not mine…the architect’s) to cherry-pick the 12 or so I might need visible. Multiply that by the nearly 100 Revit models I will be creating (where the plans for each floor of a building exist as one .dwg per level for nearly 100 buildings)

Thank you in advance for any advice!

Read this: How to ask for help.

Right now, you are showing zero (0) work. You are not posting any samples. You are basically giving us some story that no one really cares about, and asking us to do your work for you. Great, but not the right place to do that. This is a community forum, not a red cross charity for architects/engineers on a deadline. The link above explains how a typical community forum functions and what are the rules for asking good questions. Do your work, and we will help you get over the finish line. Don’t do your work and you get a nasty comment like this.

Cheers!

Hi Holly,

I’m pretty new to Dynamo as well, and it’s all a bit daunting - especially if you don’t have a programming background.