Selecting Subcategories in a Template and Families

Hi all,

I am a newbie to Dynamo and I am tying to familiarise myself with Dynamo through my daily work.What I want to do is first making a list of subcategories which set in my template, including default subcatergories, secondly making a list of subcategories used for all families I have been created in the past.
In the future, I might want to make a Dynamo file which replace subcategories one to the other but it will be a long journey for me…
I am hoping someone can help me to create an ideal Dynamo file for my task.

Anyway, I will try to explain what I am asking you to advice.

When it comes to subcategory list for my template I am facing a difficulty to select all elements first.
So do I need to select all categories by adding to item list? Looks so silly…

Even though I can make a list of subcategories in the template, I had faced another obstacle which is selecting used subcategories in each Family.

In the Family Editor, each element can set subcategories, I want to withdraw the identiy date and which subcategories are actually used in the family.

How do I select this information?
Is it type parameter?

And even if I can select the subcategory, will I be able to select them in a template as well or only when I run the Dynamo in Family Editor only?

I would appreciate if you can give me any clues to make a progress to my goal.

Thank you in advance!

Yuki

There’s nodes at least in Data-Shapes and Clockwork that give you a list of all categories. Clockwork also has a node to retrieve the category type (e.g. for filtering out non-model categories). Then there’s the Category.Subcategories node in Clockwork which will get you all subcategories of a given category. And if you want to examine subcategories of actual elements, Clockwork has a node called Element.Geometry+. I think it will, however, only work on placed elements.