Civil 3d coordinates by user pick

Get XYZ by user picking?
This must be a duplicate post - I apologize. I couldnt find any post for this question.
I just want to let the user pick a point in the ciurret space as coordinate input.
How is that done in Dynamo?
Thanks for your patience.

There is a “pick point” node in the Civil 3D Toolkit from @Paolo_Emilio_Serra1. I recommend grabbing the version which was released last week as it has a bug fix for this particular node. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Thank You : )

1 Like

Hi … sorry to be a pain … I am very new to Dynamo … is there any chance you can provide a working sample DYN that includes pick point - just a simple one … like draw a line between 2 picked points.
I have a sample DWG I am woking on , with simple CAD data in model space.
Thanks for your patience…

Pwahahaha!!! Silly me!!! this is not a program its a designer tool … designer will need to use the Dynamo interface input to provide … err… input … I got it now … huge apology!!!
… this helped me … https://www.autodesk.com/autodesk-university/class/Supercharge-Your-Dynamo-Graph-Civil-3D-Toolkit-2020#video

I’m stuck in an airport for the day due to an issue with a connecting flight, so I can’t produce this at the moment. However I’ll outline some steps for you to try this on your own.

1. Place two Pick Point nodes, and select two points in the DWG.
  2. Place a Line.ByStartPointEndPoint node, and wire the Pick Point nodes into the respective Start and End inputs.
  3. Build a range in design script by double clicking to start a code block, and type 0..1..#10;
  4. Place a Curve.CoordinateSystemAtParameter node, and wire the line into the Curve input, and the range into the Parameter input.
  5. Place a Document.Current node somewhere above
  6. Place a Document.BlockByName node ont he canvas, and wire the document current node into it.