Centroid of solid with void

Hello All,

I’m new to Dynamo and have been working on a script to get the centroid of solids. I’ve run into a problem where when a “void” is cut from a solid my script doesn’t seem to account for the cut-out in the solid.
Also, this is my first post. - I apologize if the images don’t come through correctly.

I’d appreciate any help. Thanks!

Chuck Ross

Have a look at the ‘surface inner centroid’ nodes from either the Genius Loci or Sparrow package. These use an algorithm to find the centroid of a form inside the form itself. You would need to generate a surface at the centre of the solid perpendicular to it I think though in order to get that surface, that part is likely tricky. Probably involves assessing the directionality of all the edges of the shape to determine the most common vector directions.

1 Like

I’m not sure if you have an error in your script.

1. You can use the “Element.Solids” to extract the solids information from the element. (Will save you some filtering on the back-end.)

2. You are unioning the solids…which may result in the union of the cutting element (if you have, for example a collision-body.) I see from your input that you are collecting two elements and I assume you are joining two elements, which is why you get the centroid of the “uncut” element.

It is hard to tell exactly what you are doing, but I did this on a wall, using the profile functiion to get similar L-shaped geometry, and it worked just fine.

Thank you for the reply m.owens!