Bricks wall with bricks family

Hi colleagues/friends.

I’m a Civil Engineering student and BIM lover, I’m very close to deciding the theme of my course conclusion project and I’m thinking of making it about optimization of structural masonry.

I did some courses on Udemy and YouTube but I still don’t have enough skills to create the routines that I want.

I would like to swap a random wall from Revit, including openings like doors and windows, for another wall formed by blocks of previously created families.

I thought on use the curve through the characteristics of the wall as length but this way the blocks would go through the openings.

Anyone worked with something similar before or has an idea of how to start this routine?

1 Like

If you do a search on this forum an type in “brick” or “bricks” you can learn how other people did it.

1 Like

I read the related topics, but I did not enter anything that could help me, since practically all of them deal with how to arrange the blocks on a wall without fixing moorings or openings. I would be very happy if you know of any topic that addresses this subject to refer me. Please mention me in it for me to check.

I apologize for the average English, I’m Brazilian.

Maybe you can try the Get.Creative node

2 Likes

which package is this node?

The result I show is shown in the photo

1 Like

What way would you do it Revit?
Regarding the block size?
Maybe Refinery?
@jacob.small

1 Like

I think this is in the Will-Power or Mind-Set package. :wink:

2 Likes

Thanks

I created families for each type of brick with reference at one point. That way I can insert in revit based on those points . But I don’t know a way to generate points on the wall considering its openings.

This is going to be a slow model.

Why not use adaptive components in a repeater pattern for this? Likely faster, easier, and would have the advantage of being parametric too.

1 Like