Automating Section Views

Hello Revit/Dynamo Community,

I’ve recently started getting into the powers of Dynamo within Revit, and now I’m looking to automate a lot of the stuff we do on a project to project basis. Here’s the catch; 1) I’m brand new to Dynamo and to coding, so nothing is familiar. 2) What I desire hasnt seem to have been done before (just iterations of what I’m trying to achieve, and I have to revise their examples to fit my needs).

Which brings me to my question: Creating section views of specific elements within a project (ie: Doors)

I am trying to automatically generate section views of all my doors (a section of both the front and back, crop region will be the same for all views for consistancy, and so will spacing from the door to the section view line). I have found a tutorial of a guy who was doing this for structural columns/beams, yet modifying it to doors has been very troublesome, especially since I know not what I’m doing for the most part. I’ve attached my current workspace in hopes that others can point me in the right direction

Thanks in advance for your help, if you need any further info, please let me know and I will provide!

1 Like

I just added more to the script as per the tutorial I was watch, but with no real success. I am going to upload my dynamo project here in hopes that that helps the community better help me :slight_smile:

Section Views.dyn (66.8 KB)

So i’ve had another go at this after looking at more updated tutorials, and this is my current workspace. It is said to work for most any generic model, but I cannot seem to get it to work for anything! I plugged in my door, pressed run, and all it does is leave a copy instance of the selected family that is blue in color and cannot be selected. When i select another door and run the script again, the blue copy moves away from the previous door, and does the same to the newly selected door (all while not creating a single section view!)