Automated data set assigning to Corridor Section Editor

Hello everybody, I’m new in this forum… well, I’m new in this field indeed, so thank you for your friendly help, I’ll appreciate any comment.
First of all, sorry for my bad english, I hope this will not affect the comprehension of my questions.
I’m starting using Civil 3D for roads maintenance purposes, and I need to define a corridor (one single region) with a section made by assembling generic objects that allow the customer to assign them a set of generic alphanumerical data, no matter what shape or function they have. For this purpose, I’ve already used Subassembly Composer for assembling a .pkt section with 4 simple shapes in a row, each containing a different numerical parameter representing a physical condition of the road pavement.
What I have to do now is to assign a data set with the different values of those parameters, which I know from a previous survey, along the entire alignment with a known step (1 meter, for example). I can do it manually from the Section Editor interface in Civil 3D scrolling section by section, but I need to find an automatic procedure from an excel data set to Civil 3D.

• Is it Dynamo the correct tool for this purpose?
  • Is there anything already available that can help me building this procedure?

Thank you

Hi @NicoR ,

Welcome to the forum!
Someone may correct me, but as far as I know corridor section parameter override is not yet exposed in the API, so I think automatization not possible yet. This is something I struggle with as well. So in short answer this is not something done easily in Dynamo.
There are some tricks in SA Composer for Baseline.Regionstart and Baseline.Regionend, or create multiple regions from excel data with Dynamo, but that results in tons of regions in your case, which is the opposite of convinient :smiley:
Also you can try playing with the Corridorstate Class, but that is beyond my knowledge :frowning: