Add mark to structural foundation and automatically tag

Hi there,

My name is Rob and i’m new to Dynamo.
In previous Revit versions I used revit Extensions to number structural foundations from left to right, and from top to bottom at the same time. Unfortunately Autodesk isn’t going to roll out this extension for Revit 2019 so I’m looking for a new way to do this. I’ve been advised to write a dynamo script since it would be a lot of work to do this manually (mark over 300 structural foundations)

I’ve already managed to number the structural foundations but they don’t get numbered the way I want to (from left to right, and top to bottom.
I also found a lot of sort of similar problems but I can’t get to the solution to fix my problem.

The second problem is that I would like to automatically tag the foundation. So for example the top left foundation pile will be named 01, and will be tagged with

Is there anyone that can help me?

Rob

Renumbering has been solved a few times. Try this one: Renumber Piles left to right or top to bottom - #15 by Vikram_Subbaiah

There are also multiple examples of tagging - check the forum for those and you should be squared away.

Thanks Jacob,

I’ve used the topic you’ve mentioned. I now got it right up till the end. the Element.SetParameterByName gives an error: Warning: No function called SetParameterByName on a _SingleFunctionObject that takes string,__array could be found.

What can I do to fix this last error

It might be that you left a space in the string node, after Mark. Usually I use Code Block with quotation marks, so you better see what happens.

If this is not the problem, can you expand the node List.Flatten? Are those all elements?

1 Like

Hi Luca,