Trying to Create Section Boxes for 3d Views

Capture

This is what I have so far. Basically, I am trying to create a node that will read all of the views in Revit, go through each one individually and determine if it is a 3D view, and if it is, create a section box for that view through the “Sectionbox.ByElements” node. The problem/reason I have to create this node is because the “Sectionbox.ByElements” node can only create section boxes on the active view, and I simply need the node to search through all of the 3D views and create section boxes for all of them. I run into trouble with the If node. I am new to Dynamo and programming in general, and I assume I need a python script that will run the “Sectionbox.ByElements” node if the View.TypeIs3D node returns true.

If there is a more efficient way of completing the task I am trying to complete, please let me know! Any help is appreciated.

You could try something along the lines of this?

2015-10-04_15-34-40

I will try this first thing on Monday. Thanks for the help! I’ll report back and see what happens.

Hey Dimitar,

So I tried your fix and it is creating a section box, but it is creating a section box around the entire array of elements. I will give you a run down on my project. Basically, I have a large array of model homes in one project. I need each model home to have one 3d ISO view, and I need that view to just be centered around that individual house, which means I need a section box to cut out all of the other homes. I also need to be able to see inside the house, so the corner of one side must be removed in the view. I got the 3d view creation part working, but I am struggling with the section box creation part. Your fix did create a section box, but the box encompassed the entire array of homes. I am looking for a way to get each individual 3d view to have its own “home-sized” section box, preferably with an offset so that I can see through one of the corners of the home.