Surface Heatmap Based on location of Objects

I was able to create a heat map based on the location of a single object. Essentially I created a UV map which measures the distance between each point and the object, drops it in a range and then color it accordingly. Works great!

The problem is that I am now trying to do the same for multiple types of the same object. In my example I chose a number of chairs by their category but it appears as it is only running the calculations for “Item 0.”

1 Like

Look into your list lacing and levels on the Geometry.DistanceTo node.

I have no experience in this but i find this really interesting!
Could you maybe share what you are trying to achieve with this script? (Just out of curiosity)

Thanks for the tip, I think I realized the what the issue was. Each node had 10 values (one for each piece of furniture. Therefore the color range node was incorrectly allocating a color to values. I think I need to parse the list so that each node finds the closest piece of furniture and the color range assigns a value based on that. I will experiment more this evening.

With COVID19 heavily impacting how offices are going to be laid out in the future I am helping our teams produce a way to graphically show highly dense areas that would promote gathering. Right now we are manually putting dots on a page in illustrator, which is effective but it ultimately is taking away from the time our designers spend designing new layouts. I’m hoping to put together some graphics that Revit/Dynamo can quickly spit out so our teams can iterate and present those iterations.

Interesting stuff for sure. I was playing around with the Path of Travel API to check how far things are from each other.

(And for those people out there who say, "people will just “sit farther from each other on their own”. This is still a cool exercise and use-case for computation).

3 Likes