Subdividing a cuboid into individual cuboids

Hi all,

Is there a way to subdivide a cuboid into multiple cuboids (eg 3x3x3 into 27 1x1x1 cube just like a rubik’s cube but not necessarily have equal sides, can be 3x3x4, etc)…

I have done this only in 2d where a surface is subdivided into square panels…

Thanks in advance for your help - I am very new to Dynamo geometry…

Hi @archjahzzy

After you divide surface in 2d you can use surface.thickness node or Curve.Exrtrude node to get solids from it.

Hi @Kulkul, thank you! I will try that (don’t have my pc atm)

Hi Kulkul,

Using the Surface.Thickness just created one solid surface without subdivisions… Curve.Extrude doesn’t work for some reason…

@archjahzzy Could you please show us your complete graph with all the previews visible.

Help-1

Hi!

I have generated a solid mass with movable spherical voids to create different form options…
However, I need to further refine this by subdividing the solid into cubes with LxWxH that can be varied, too. And all cubes that intersect by more than 50% with the spherical void will be deleted…

How do I go about this… Or am I in the right direction at all?

Thank you!

Hi @Kulkul, this is the graph… sorry, later I will turn on all previews… I am out having lunch. Thanks!

Hi @Kulkul,

This is how I ma

de the surface with panels -

Hi @archjahzzy

It works as expected:

Ohhh… I seee! I used Curved.Extrude instead of Curve.ExtrudeAsSolid

So… now, just another thing. Instead of one single cuboid along the z axis, I want it to be a series of cubes such that they are divided into my panel size… However, using the range values as input to the distance gives me an error…

@archjahzzy What does the error says?

Hi @Kulkul,

I managed to do that with the voids excluded, too. Thank you so much!

To further explain my previous question… here is the outcome of the original extrusion with a single z-value: