StartPoint of Curve in Python

Hi guys,

i started learning Python and have a very basic problem. How do i get the Startpoint of a curve. Can i use Design Script syntax?
I think i first have to convert the curve in a Python readable type?

Thanks for the help!

Laurin

1 Like

Curve.GetEndPoint(0) or GetEndPoint(1)

GetEndPoint(0"or1") doesn’t work but PointAtParameter(0) works

2 Likes

GetEndPoint is a Revit API method for Revit points.
curve1.EndPoint

you can’t use designscript syntax in Python - thats why they are different languages.

The method Curve.EndPoint() - is really an instance method of the curve class, so you call it on Curve instances, like curve1.

In DS we also transform these into statically callable methods so it’s easy to call them both ways, but python of course does not do this.

4 Likes

Hi @Michael_Kirschner2,

thanks for replying!
Am i still using the wrong syntax? Bc all the methods from the dir(surface1) and dir(curve1) are not working. Or do i have to convert the surface/curve first?

Thanks again!

The error says:
TypeError: ‘Surface’ object is not subscriptable

Try to convert the lines first. In a separate pythonscript.
Import:
clr.AddReference(“RevitNodes”)
import Revit
clr.ImportExtensions(Revit.Elements)
clr.ImportExtensions(Revit.GeometryConversion)
from Revit import GeometryConversion as gp

Add .ToRevitType() after each dynamo curve.
Im not sure if this also works on surfaces.

You dont need to unwrap dynamo lines.
You also cannot mix ProtoGeometry calls with Revit API calls within one python node.

why do you think thats the case? There should be no reason you can’t mix these calls in a single python context.

@laurin.ernstMA6Q3 - the error means you can’t do surface1[0] because surface1 is a surface not a list of surfaces.