Springs.Collector.ElementSketch for linked elements

Hello. I am trying to make a script that takes the sketch lines of floors for use in something else. I have been using springs nodes’ Collector.ElementSketch in Dynamo 1.3.2 and it has worked for all floors within the host file of Revit but when I try to use linked floors, it returns a null.

I am pretty new to Dynamo but I am assuming it is because since the element is a linked element, it doesn’t store the sketch lines used to make it/cannot access it? I am using Revit 2017 with Dynamo 1.3.2 and all of the most recent versions of the packages.

Is there a way to make linked elements work with this node?

Alternatively, I was thinking of duplicating the floors into the host files temporarily to be used in the script but have been having a hard time figuring out how.

I don’t believe that there is a way to make that node work with a linked file. The reason is that in the API there is no way to easily map the sketch elements to the element they belong to. The way that this is accomplished (per the Revit API master himself http://thebuildingcoder.typepad.com/blog/2010/11/access-to-sketch-and-sketch-plane.html) in this node is to create a sub-transaction that deletes each floor/roof and then rollback (undo) that deletion. The act of deleting something returns the ids of every deleted element - which is then stored and then the list of sketch elements is then searched for those ids to then return to the user the sketch element curves.

Because you cannot delete elements in a linked file, this node cannot work on a linked file. This is an area that the API could definitely be improved.

3 Likes

Start an idea station page for it or find a link to one so we can all upvote it. :slight_smile: