Scanning for a rogue linestyle/line pattern

Hello to the folks,

I am new to the forum and Dynamo too. I have a task at hand to hunt through a directory of revit files (rvt, rfa, rte) and locate the file which has an obsolete set of line pattern, line style and fill pattern.

I was able to figure out how to do that in current file but have been failing quite miserably at doing the same with a bunch of files in a target folder.

Pointers would be really appreciated.

As i am a noob, if there are guides or text, to understand dynamo better, you can point me to that would be helpful too.

Thanks,
Shaik

I don’t know of a solution, but it will probably require some sort of package which specializes in maintaining standards, or some scripting. I can’t help you with either.

How many files do you need to do?

If the number of files is say, less than 20 and it takes each file one minute to open and the script can be run from dynamo player, it probably doesn’t make sense to invest the time scripting it for multiple files.

If this is going to become a maintenance routine (running the script at intervals) then scripting it by openings the documents in the background makes sense.

Thanks for your response

Thing is this rogue element keeps popping into the current work through the family repository. Having a ton of families, developed over time, it is inevitable that it happens. And everytime it happens it requires us to cleanup the file at multiple stages which is a lot of time wasted.

And the families are so many it would be grueling to open them all one by one. If there was a way to read which families are hosting the rogue elements then its easy to fix and am sure will not repeat again.

It’s not a maintenance task but the files are too many to open one by one.

I was able to develop a flow to delete them from the current open file, its just that i am not able to crack how to get the list of lines, line styles from a directory of Revit files.

I found this in a post: