Run a node based on true false

Don’y know if what I’m looking for is possible…
I’m working with schedules. I’m trying to have my script check the Revit file to see if a schedule with a specific name exists. If so, make the adjustments to the schedule. If not, create the schedule and fill it in with appropriate information.
I’m using the createschedule from archilab. The node works great as long as the schedule doesn’t exist. If it does exist the node errors out with a requires unique name warning.

So, my question is, does anyone know of a way (point me in the right direction) to keep a node from running if a true / false is triggered?

I know I can accomplish what I’m attempting with some python scripting but I thought I’d ask the experts before going that route.

Something like this should work.Capture

This should help. Let me know if you have any questions. Take a look at both post as ether one of them could be your solution.

1 Like

I am no expert, but I think that with that solution, both parts of the code will run, what changes is only the output of the If statement ; however the ScopeIf node might do the trick (but you have to be careful with the use of that node as all three inputs should be independant).

@Steven’s solution looks promising ! :slight_smile:

Another way of doing it would be, I guess, to combine the two solutions :

• Encapsulate the two part of the code to execute into two custom nodes
  • Have an If statement return the appropriate custom node to execute
  • Apply the output of the If statement to your input.

It would still draw errors but possibly a filterbyboolmask, with a name check where true means a schedule with that name already exists and false means does not exist. Then the INs go to adjust existing and OUTs go to create new schedules?