Rotating blocks along the path (Dynamo for C3D)

Helllo Everyone,
I am new to the Dynamo so I have one question if you could help me. I wanted to rotate already made blocks(as seen in the picture) along a path but I dont exactly know how to do it. I pressume it can be done through this rotationDegrees in BlockReference node but I am not sure how. I couldnt find exact topic about this so if there is one please guide me to it.Thanks in advance.

1 Like

Hi,
I might be wrong, but as far as I know the rotation angle default 0 is on the WCS X axis.
acad_dUoUZW5wbB
I assume you need the block references perpendicular to the lines.
You can use the insertion points and the lines with the Geometry.ClosestPointTo node, so you can create points on the line and then a vector between the to points. When you have the vector you can get the degrees between X axis and and the vector (Vector.AngleWithVector).
And if everything goes well that is your rotational angle. You may have to add ± 90 or 180 degrees depending the quadrant and the block’s default orientation.
If the blocks are on the lines get the vector between the consecutive vertices, rotate -+90 degrees and there you have it.
There are more complicated, but foolproof ways, but I think this is the easiest.

PS. If the lines can go as alignments, you can get the coord system at station and (I guess) X axis is the perpendicular one to the alignment.

Hi,
we dont understand what are we doing wrong. Is there maybe problem with path because z coordinate is in 0?

ubacivanje KT iz excela (1).dyn (256.5 KB)

Yes use the 2D of the points for the vector creation(create new ones from the XY).
And also, you need the pline geometry as input not the pline. Insert an Object.Geometry node.
The yellow warning are helpful is input types are not matched.

Some blocks are rotated and aligned but others are not.You can check it on the picture.Can you tell me what is the problem now?