Revit Dynamo access Database

Hello, i’m new to Dynamo and this is my first attempt to make a connection to an access database trough an OLEDB connection. But nothing works. Can anyone tell me what i’m doing wrong here. Tanx

I am not sure if the same issues of 32 vs 64 bit drivers for MSAccess applies in the same way to OLEDB connections in the same way as ODBC connections.

My experience (mainly Navisworks) is that connections to MSAccess can be problematic & have ended up using SQLExpress server instead.

This post might help- database connections using Python
http://dynamobim.org/forums/topic/connection-to-ms-sql-with-slingshot/

Andrew

Tanks for your answere i will give it a try.

I needed to do this myself…

It is pretty easy to convert the MSAccess table into a SQLExpress database using the MSAccess migration tools.

You can link the table back into MSAccess if you need to.

The below works:

1 Like

Hi!

I see this post is a couple of years old, but I still have the same problem, and curious to know how other solve this issue.

The task I’m working with is to sync Access database with revit models. In my company 32b version of office is standard, and then you cant install Access database engine for 64b, and then the oledb connection to Access databases doesn’t work.

We would like to keep using Access as it is a software people are familiar with, and I don’t think it would be appreciated to change to e.g. SQL express.

I see some people manage to install both engine by modify the registry files, but thats not really a good solution in order to make the dynamo scripts available for many users.

Any input is appreciated!

Hi Jorgen

In my experience, ODBC connections to MSAccess are still a problem- there are many variables across PCs such as operating system, version of Office, drivers etc that mean it can work, but is not reliable.