Revit - Automating adding room tags based on furniture placed

Hi everyone,

I’m fairly new to Dynamo and am trying to figure out some things to speed up my workflow in Revit.

I’m trying to make Dynamo add room tags based on the furniture families i’ve placed in certain rooms. For example if i put a shower family in a room, Dynamo should recognize it as a bathroom and place a roomtag called ‘bathroom’.

Later on i plan on trying to also make Dynamo place floors based on these room tags or families as well.

If anyone has some tips as to how to approach these two scripts it would be greatly appreciated!

Greets Jens

break this into sub tasks or sub functions.

1. id what families are in each room - return a data structure that you can ask the question - given room x, what families are present.

2. write a function which maps from a collection of families (maybe relative levels of family types (%) - to a specific tag)

3. apply both functions to all rooms.

With BimorphNodes v2.1, there is a node called BoundingBox.GetElementsInside. You could take the room and find it’s boundingbox, use that bimorph node, and check for elements inside if match a family type.

Thanks for the advice! I installed the BimorphNodes v2.1’ package but i can’t seem to find the BoundingBox.GetElementsInside node.

I assume i can use the node BoundingBox.Contains to check if the point from one of the families is inside the boundingbox of the room.

Is there a standard node to determine the bounding box of a room?

It should just be Element.BoundingBox, with room as an input. Rooms have a boundingbox with the height set to what the room’s height parameter is.

Bounding boxes are a horrible way to track what’s in a room as they are orthogonal and don’t take into account unique shapes like L or U shaped rooms. Element.Room is likely the way to go here (my memory may have failed on that name) or PointIsInRoom.

Is that from a package? Can’t find it in OOTB in 0.9.2