Place Familys automatically on Room-Ceiling

Hey there,

I am pretty new in working with Dynamo and I am trying to automate a Process which usually would take plenty of Time. What I want to do is:

-Get all the Rooms <50m² in a Project
-Place an Element in the middle of the Room on the Ceiling (Element will be a Lamp or something like that) if the Room is <50m²

In order to be able to do this, I have to work with the Room Height (i guess?), but i can’t manage to get it done.

What i currently have is this:

So right now, i am able to select a Level in my Project and place a Family Type (its a Television right now, but don’t mind that) in the middle of the Room. The Element gets placed on the Floor though, which would not really make sense for a Lamp:grinning:.

I also did not manage to find a way to get All Elements of the Project, I did try to get all Elements by Category but did not manage to get the right Blocks working with them in the further Process ( like i did here with the Polygon stuff). This is no Major Problem, but i’d like to 100% automate this Process in the End.

Any Help is appreciated,

Thanks

Hi @GulioSev

I would use categories (ceilings)
all elements of category
filter by area
get face of ceiling
get the middle
Springs.FamilyInstanceByFace

1 Like

Hey thanks for that, aren’t Ceilings located also on other Places like “Floors” or something, i’d like to put the Elements only inside a Room.

I would enable 3D room calculations and use a room.boundaries node which will give you the floors, walls, and ceilings which define the limits of the room. The largest ceiling element is likely the one to host to, but if you have decorative ceiling planes (coffers, soffits, etc) you’ll have some issues.

2 Likes

@m.rijsmus How would you Filter by Area, cant find anything on that?

@jacob.small Yes, but for whatever Reason i get this Result:

How am i supposed to get the Celings out of that List?

1 Like