Rename and sort types by name?

Hi,

I’m just learning Dynamo and the first practical script I want to create is something that can rename and sort elements(doors, windows, walls etc) by type name.

Background: We almost always name our types by size and assign letters to types with equal size, so two 1000mm doors in a project would be D10a and D10b. During a project, as more and more disciplines add their requirements on different elements these types tend to get scrambled, a lot.

The way I want to solve this is exporting a bunch of parameters to Excel, sort them, import back to Revit and overwrite existing parameters. I’ve created two scripts for this, only trouble is, when I run the import script I get the following error: “Warning: Element.SetParameterByName operation failed.
The parameter is read-only.”. I’ve narrowed this down to the Type Name parameter. So, basically, how do I write text to that parameter?

Hey there,

I guess you are tying to set Type parameters.

In this case you need to get a list of types from your elements and then use Element.SetParameterByName on these types.

Used Element.SetName from Clockwork, worked :slight_smile:

I have another issue with this though. All of the parameters I want to change are type, however the list I get is instance. Still works as long as I change all of the instances to the same value, but can I somehow group all instances of the same type in the list to make a more compact excel file?

Use Element.ElementType to get the family of an instance

Still instance? Or did I misunderstand?

Ok, my bad
Add List.UniqueItems

Brilliant! My last question is the warning I get when I run the script to import the parameters back. Everything works fine as far as I can tell but both last nodes return: “Warning: Element.SetParameterByName operation failed.