Python Data-Matching

I am new to python and would like to know how to go about developing a script to select elements based on data matching. I can already do this in the standard dynamo environment, but I was hoping for a more self-contained method using python.

Inputs
0 = Elements
1 = Parameter Name
2 = Values to match

Out = Matched Elements

What happens in between is magic as far as i am concerned.

At the moment I just need to gauge if this is something which could be accomplished by a complete novice, or am I biting off more than i can chew?

Cheers,
Matt

Hello @m.owens ,

Yes, this is a perfect task to start with Python in Dynamo because it is an easy for-loop and you can achieve it by using dynamo methods.
Here is the code you are looking for:

# Enable Python support and load DesignScript library
import clr
clr.AddReference('ProtoGeometry')
from Autodesk.DesignScript.Geometry import *

# The inputs to this node will be stored as a list in the IN variables.
elems = IN[0]
parName = IN[1]
parValue = IN[2]
# Place your code below this line

MatchElem = []

for e in elems:
	if e.GetParameterValueByName(parName) == parValue:
		MatchElem.append(e)

# Assign your output to the OUT variable.
OUT = MatchElem 

Then, when you’ll be more confident with Python, you will probably like to condense more the code.
In this specific case, everything could be written in one line:

OUT = [e for e in elems if e.GetParameterValueByName(parName) == parValue]
4 Likes

Hi Giuseppe,

Yes, easy for you!

I have a small amount of experience with writing scripts (in VB.NET for Grasshopper) none of which involved looping.

So I expected I would have to import many more Libraries and to unwrap elements. Since you were so willing to help, I’d like to ask a few more questions, and maybe one more favor.

The first issue I am running into is sending two lists into the node. I think I need to use a While Loop to do cross-lacing, right? I don’t know how to do that :(((

Questions: