Plot xyz into color image

Hi all,

I’m working on a stadium design tool and I have calculated the c-value (a value that says something about sight quality) for a number of XYZ points in the stadium. Now, I want to create a 2D color plot using the X and Y coordinates for the location of these points, and the C-value that determines the color. To do so, i have found a time consuming workaround. I place simple disc-shaped 1-point adaptive components in a Revit project, and I write the c-value corresponding to that point to a parameter instance parameter called c-value. Then I use some color filters in the view to create the image I want (see attachments).

My question: is there a simple way to use some python script for creating such an output?

I came across this library (http://matplotlib.org/ ), but I don’t know exactly how to use it within a python script node, and where to locate the library on my computer, as I’m a beginner level programmer.

This example seems easy and promising for my purpose.

http://matplotlib.org/examples/mplot3d/2dcollections3d_demo.html

Hope you guys can help me out here!

Best,

Jesse Mom

output image

Theres a few ways to do this:

You can use Revit’s analysis visualization framework to plot colored points. Theres some nodes for this, not sure how they are working in .7.

You can use matplotlib, but I’m not sure it’s supported through iron python…

We don’t have color overrides in the current visualization engine of Dynamo but it’s in development in the BloodStone branch on github.

What is your intended output, image files? If so and you want to use python you can find some python library for drawing that is supported in iron python.

Using your existing adaptive component placement workflow, you can then use the visibly/graphics color override node (can’t remember the exact name) to recolor the families. You can see a sample of this kind of workflow in the Revit_color sample in the help menu.