Place families on a grid

Hi,

I have a dyn file that allow me to place several families in a revit file by coordinates and by controlling the space between each element.

I would like to place them on a grid of point instead of a looooong line by setting how many columns there is f.ex. Dynamo would place 4 and then go “to a new line under” and place 4 others etc.

I manage to do a grid but it duplicates the objects… so if you could just put me on the way, give me a hint…

Thanks!

Post a screenshot or your actual DYN so we can guide you accordingly. Hard to redirect you when we don’t see where you are headed.

1 Like

Right, sorry!

Here is the thing. Don’t know if it’s really good but it works great for now, I just would like to place the families in a grid-like way instead of all in a big long line. Something to do with the coordinates I guess but I can’t think of a solution, I am new at this…

Don’t do the job for me, just put me on the way if you’ve heard about it! (I can post the python if needed buut I doubt it has something to do with the placement…?)

Thanks!

It seems you are creating a diagonal series of points, not a grid. Why don’t you try to feed your List.Combine with a grid of points? Does it works if you change the lacing of Point.ByCoordinates to a CrossProduct?

I’ve tried something here:

But my families look like that:

I would like to have one family instance by point instead of duplicating them. The must would be to control the width of the grid, say input 5 as the number of columns and the grid creates itself according to how many elements has to be placed.

Thanks for helping :wink:

Ps: The lacing thing didn’t seem to do anything…

1 Like