Placing family on the spot from dwg file

Hello,

I am pretty new with Dynamo…

My first bigger problem that I can not find solution is
PLACING FAMILY IN REVIT (with Dynamo). FAMILIES MUST HAVE SAME COORDINATE LIKE BLOCK IN DWG FILE.
with other words I WOULD LIKE TO REPLACE BLOCK WITH FAMILIES. IS that possible with existing nodes or I must start studing Python?

Regards,
Adnan

1 Like

Hi @adnandj ,
you could extract the coordinates of blocs from autocad with EATTEXT command to excell then get those coordinates in dynamo and place your families with FamilyInstance.ByPoint or FamilyInstance.ByPointAndLevel … I think what is already available should be enough no need to code.

3 Likes

Thank you very much for idea!

Hi!
Have you succeeded with the idea?
I came up to the same task and trying to get this done…
Could you please share how your script works and which steps there are?
Thanks!

EATTEXT is a great tool in autocad. Just used it the first time and got a huge excel file. I filtered the name of the block and it´s coordinates. With this info in excel I was able to place a family at the coordinates of the blocks.

There will be a problem if the blocks ar rotated, but in my case it is ok.

Johannes

2 Likes

Haven’t tried EATTEXT but DATAEXTRACTION produces a customized excel output (only the fields and elements you want are exported) which can also get the values you need.

1 Like

Thanks for your replies!
Still crunching the concept…

Hello Johannes,

you can export the rotation of the block too, no?

it is among the paramters you can (not) filter.

Can you please share the script “Excell auslesen …bis zum Famile Plazieren” with me?

Vielen Dank!

MFG,

Willem

Hi, @Johannes_Meiners. Used your script and worked great. Thanks… I had this same issue and your tip encouraged me to finally start using Dynamo. Thanks, again!!

In the end I even tweaked it and added a simple coordinate system transformation (just a subtraction to the x,y,z values).