Pile renumbering - need spline assistance

Hi all,

I am a relative newbie to Revit/Dynamo, I am a Junior CAD Technician for a structural engineering company, I am currently learning how to use Dynamo to number piles, however this specific tool requires use of a spline, and as I am trying to number 500+ piles, it is very difficult to use a spline due to not being able to continue a spline if you click off of it or if you make a mistake you have to start again.

I am asking for help for either a better way to draw splines so that if I click off the spline I can continue it, or how to change the dynamo script so that I can use normal lines and tab-through them to make it a “polyline” (I know Revit and CAD are different but polylines are so useful!) and go through each pile that way, or if there is a way to highlight every pile and run a script that instantly puts a spline through everything highlighted (assuming its on the same level)?

Hope that wall of text wasn’t too bad, if I am unclear and you need images to help demonstrate what I need help with I can easily provide them, any help would be greatly appreciated!

Regards,
James.

Hi,

Might be worth sharing some images to help us get an idea. I’ve never heard of numbering piles using the spline tool?

For any numbering systems if it follows some logic you can normal automate it fairly easily, however, it kinda needs to follow some sort of pattern. For example, I work in MEP and I mark my lights from bottom left to top right.

if that’s the case look at the following:

If the numbering system is not that clear then I’ll need more information to help.

As shown in this image, the site is on the left with just the piles on the right, I am trying to number each pile on the right without having to run a spline through all of it.

Sorry mate, I’m clueless how using spline tool and numbering is related.