Modify Revit Elements With Sound Waves

Hey Guys,

I’m pretty new to Dynamo but this is a different use of it from anything I could find, so I thought I should share.

The basic workflow goes like this:

1. convert a WAV file to a CSV and save it in excel
  2. Bring the data into Dynamo
  3. Clean up and modify the list a bit
  4. modify elements in Revit, in my example I use a fence

Here’s the whole workflow step by step.
https://www.wholeconstructionsolutions.com/single-post/2017/11/27/Dynamo-Workflow-with-Sound-Waves

1 Like

:+1: An interesting concept, sound based facade design anyone?

2 Likes

What did you use to convert the .WAV to .CSV? I’m looking into SoX and wondering if Dynamo could read the .WAV directly, eliminating the need for a middle man in your example, and perhaps allowing for better/smarter/faster acoustical studies tied into Revit geometry.

Thoughts anyone?

1 Like

Thought Id give it a go, James Brown “I feel good” in Dynamo/Revit.

@jacob.small if sound measurements were taken within a space (concert hall) to assess sound fade, intensity etc.I reckon that Dynamo could easily provide a scatter plot of zones of interest.

While I am not involved in any acoustic type studies, if i find some time to experiment I’l let you know. :grinning:

5 Likes

I used a (free) program called Audacity. What is SoX?

1 Like

Hey Ewan, this looks really cool, how did you get that green graph?

Any chance you could share the graph and the sound file?

Sure, NP Sound Wave Fence.dyn (668.1 KB)

Seems like I can’t attach a .CSV file for some reason though. Send me an email at strom@wholeconstructionsolutions.com and I’ll email it to you.

The green model line is from a Nurbs.Curve approximation of the sound max dB peaks.

The scaling of the horizontal length of the Curve (length of the track) was just by eye comparing it to the spectrum in Audacity (@Nolan_WCS :+1:)