Linking Parameter Information between Families

Hello, all.

I’m a dynamo beginner, been trying to figure this out for a couple days now and was hoping someone could help! I’m trying to use dynamo to link parameter information between two different families so I don’t have to copy paste.

The scenario:
There are only a few of FamilyA, but a lot of FamilyB, but FamilyB wants to take on some info produced by Family A (parameter X). In order to create the connection between the two, I made a text parameter for both families called “FamilyA_ID,” so multiple Family B’s can pull the same information from 1 FamilyA. If I were to do this in Revit, I’d make a schedule for each family sorted by “FamilyA_ID,” collapse them, and then do some copy-pasting.
I’m looking to use Dynamo to avoid copy pasting because the quantities of both Families A and B are still in flux, and I expect to end up with around 20 of FamilyA and hundreds of FamilyB.

I tried to use SpringNode Dictionaries.ByKeysValues, but it seems to require the inputs to have the same count. I produce the values from FamilyA, but the key and search inputs, if I’m understanding how to use the node correctly, are derived from FamilyB, so I end up with only one instance of FamilyB being populated.

Does anyone have a suggestion about how I can do this? Sorry if my explanation is confusing!

Thank you!

Explaination isn’t necessarily confusing, but I’m scratching my head as to why…

That said List.GroupByKey will sort your family B items by their FamilyA_Id, which can then be used to get the family A elements using an IDs to selection method. Pull the desired parameter value and then set the corresponding parameter value in family B groups.

By the sounds of it you should just use global parameters though. Would need to see the actual case and know more of the workflow to be certain though.

Hi, Jacob.

I hadn’t considered global parameters, but that is a possible solution.