Learning Python, DS from VBA?

I guess the VBA is not a common asked question but there’s a reason in the title.

I’m a recently graduated Engineer and currently doing my Master’s in BIM. We’re about to reach the structures part of the Master and I saw that it will involve programming in Dynamo. Based on what I’ve been reading here, a lot of people say that I should learn DS, others mention Python. Not starting a discussion on which is better, but what are the pros and cons of each? Why should I pick one or the other?

I know how to program basic stuff in VBA, small macros that automate my tasks. Would that help me jump from one language or the other?

Keep in mind I’m still fairly green on the workforce and really green on the BIM environment, so I’m essentially open to whichever path will lead to more opportunities.

1 Like

I just started using python coding in my scripts but i never even thought about the differences. I always thought DS was a simplified version of Python. And I wasn’t sure if DS allowed the Revit API to be used etc. I personally made my decision on the fact that DS code blocks can get very large at some point…
I’m following this topic as you made me interested as well.

The landscape may have changed a bit, but this post is still relevant:

Personally, I would definitely recomend Python over any other language. Not a master of it, but already got so much out of it! For example, at my office they were trying to short big amounts of data in a particular way, impossible to do it in DS or excel. A bit of help with pandas, a Python library, and job done in an afternoon (including research time). Also, with python you can move to any other program and apply it to so many cool stuff! (machine learning, machine visualization, data processing…you name it!)

1 Like