Join elements in a specific order

Hi there,
I’m an architecture student moving my very first steps into Dynamo, indeed it’s been a few days since I discovered its existence even if scripts are not one of my “mains”.

I was looking for one able to help me join geometries that intersect in a specific order. I found this by Ammo that came really handy in order to just join intersect geometries ( Auto join Elements - #10 by ammo ) but I was not able to make it do it in a specific order such as shown in this thread ( How to join and dissalow join different elements - #14 by trezatreza ).
[Just to be more specific, if I join slabs with beams, I want slabs to be joined with beams that intersect them in this specific order slab-beams, not randomly; and of course the otherway round if I need to]
Can you please teach me how to do it?

Thanks in advance for your help, I’m trying my best to learn few but essential steps in Dynamo so if you have any suggestion/book/course to start with I’d really appreciate.

G

Hi @George.9,

Welcome to the Dynamo community! :slight_smile:

Could you maybe share some screenshots (and maybe a file) from what you have right now and what you would like to achieve.
Also if you could explain how to want to join the objects, and what your goal is? I’m sure we can help you out.

Kind regards,
Daan

Hi @Daan,
Thanks! :slight_smile:

I’ll try to make myself clear as much as I can. I’m looking for a script to make join elements of two categories that intersect in a specific order (e.g. if I join slab and beams, I want the slab to cut the beams; viceversa if I switch join).

I only found ways to make elements that intersect join in a random order and I thank Ammo for this because his workflow from this post ( Auto join Elements - #10 by ammo ) joins interesect elements very fast in my project.

I was not able to figure out the switch join order thing.
I’ve read tons of post on this forum, watched tutorials without any result.