Inputs in definitions - is this possible?

Hi all,

I have a script that requires the Select Model Element node to be used several times with the same element selected. I would like to clean it up a bit, remove the crossing wires etc. by using code block definitions.

I’m new to code block defs so sorry if this is very simple!

Is there a way to to have an input in a definition like in the top row of nodes?
If not is there a way to make the element ID a variable in the bottom row of code blocks? The element id won’t always be the same when running in different scripts you’re aware.

Any suggestions?

Cheers!

TJ

Hi @Tom_James

Why not just use “List.Cycle” or “List.OffRepeatedItems” node. You can have as many times you want :slight_smile:

Hi @Kulkul,

I get what you mean, there isn’t really an issue. I was just wondering if there was a way to reduce the amount of ‘crossing wires’ in my script, by having the definition shoved in the corner, so all I have to do is use the Modeltest() node as shown above, cleaning up the script.

Do you know if it’s possible to have an input into a definition?

Thanks,

@Kulkul @Tom_James This question has been asked multiple times on the forum, and the answer has always been no. It is a reasonable and logical request. Essentially it is like in Python (or any other number of languages I assume) when declaring a variable. The scope of that variable definition varies based on the rules of the language. In Python, if the variable is declared in the body of a module (say x=1), the value of that variable is constant when called in the body (unless it is overwritten by a subsequent assignment to the same variable name (x=2). If the variable is declared within the definition of a function, the variable’s value applies only to the code within the function definition.