How to create determine the orientation of walls from revit (North, South, West, East)

Hi!
I’ve been trying to determine the orientation of my walls from my revit model.

I’m very new in dynamo and I’m completely lost. Don’t know anything about coding and I don’t know what must of things means. Although it seems pretty logic, I keep getting “null”, I’m pretty sure that my custom node’s are wrong.

If anybody here know how to create this custom nodes I need please share the knowledge. I will appreciate it the must

Bests,
MB

Hi @MarianaB, can you show us your Dynamo-graph of your work? :slight_smile:

Sure!!

This is my main file

This is my first custom node “Wall.Orientation”

This is my second node “wall orientation”

I’m trying to figure out why this wall I have selected as a test is not reflecting any orientation. I’ve read a lot about this custom nodes and this type of information I’m looking for, but I feel kind of stock right now.

I’ll appreciate your or anyone else help the must.

Thanks,

Have you tried the nodes from the Dynamo library? Wall.ExteriorDirection is from archi-lab :slight_smile:

Like this, you’ll get the orientation of WallVector. You might find that useful :slight_smile:

It got all the walls but still is not filtering properly

Good shout, Clockwork and Rhythm have similar as well, I found this post helpful…

1 Like

In your custom replace point.X with the node Vector.X

Capture

1 Like

Home.dyn (39.9 KB)

Nico

1 Like

The custom node:
Walls.NorthEastSouthWest.dyf (37.2 KB)

the dyn file:
Home.dyn (11.4 KB)

1 Like

Thank you Nico for these files. But for some reason all files I try to download seems to be corrupted. I don’t think it has anything to do with your file, but my firewall or something on my computer.

I can’t possibly get that Walls.NorthEastSouthWest right… I’ve try other ways, maybe you can take a look (or anyone else) and let me know where the mistake is.