How To Check Dynamo Is Open Or Closed!

Hi everyone, I have a question to investigate right now, do we have a way to check if the dynamo is open with revit, I use Process.GetProcesses () but can’t find any progress Anyway, if someone has solution, please help me, thanks!

var processss = from proc in System.Diagnostics.Process.GetProcesses() orderby proc.ProcessName ascending select proc;
foreach (var item in processss)
{
Console.WriteLine(item.ProcessName);
}

Screenshot_2

Not sure this is entirely the forum you need, this sounds more like a stack exchange question. However, there are probably several ways to go about something like this (I’m no expert in System.Diagnostics so maybe someone else will chime in), but here are a couple of suggestions that I can think of…

I couldn’t get much info out of the CefSharp subprocess, but by enumerating the modules of the Revit.exe process you can check if there any filenames that contain the name “Dynamo”, Revit will load these in only when the user launches Dynamo. This will only tell you if Dynamo has been opened, not that it is open… once the modules are loaded, they remain loaded until Revit is shut down even if you close Dynamo.

Another crude method is to check the latest dynamo log file, if it does not say Goodbye, then it is open.

Or, you could just create a ViewExtension. I have no idea what it is you are trying to do, but you could use it communicate to another process when Dynamo is open or has been closed via IPC and trigger some external code.

Cheers,
Dan

1 Like

Have you thought about accessing the Journal files and reading information from that?

I have not tried/looked to see what is indicated re:Dynamo but definitely worth a look at.

Also watch out if reading information from memory because i think revit still holds dynamo(and dynamo packages) there even if closed. This is why you have to close revit fully to uninstall a dynamo package if dynamo has been opened.

1 Like