Get project location name of Revit Links in Revit Links - Inception like question

Hi Dynamoers,

I am trying to get the ActiveProjectLocation.Name out of links in links (everybody thinks Inception right?):
I have a master file, which has several links (12), I can easily fetch the ActiveProjectLocation.Name for all of them. I can also get the Revit Instance Links (68) that are hosted in each and every links of my master file. From the latest, I can collect a fair amount of project information: shared location, file size, worksets, … but the same piece of python script that allows me to get the ActiveProjectLocation.Name of my ‘first level’ links, does not get the ‘2nd level’ ones.

The question is:

1. Is it because the links in links info of the Active Project Location cannot be fetch @ a 2nd level / API limitation? - note that I have tried the python code inside a custom node to play with the lacing with the same results = null -
  2. is it just because of my bad coding skills or because of something that works differently @ the 2nd level fo links?

import clr

# clr.AddReference loads and imports .net assembly(dll) as python module
# load RevitAPI.dll and RevitServices.dll
clr.AddReference("RevitAPI")
clr.AddReference("RevitServices")

# import filtered element collector and revit link instance classes
from Autodesk.Revit.DB import FilteredElementCollector, RevitLinkInstance

# import document manager
from RevitServices.Persistence import DocumentManager

# collect link documents from current document
link_docs = UnwrapElement(IN[0])
#rvtLinks = link_docs.ToElements()

ProjectLocation = []

#Queries

for i in link_docs :

projloc = i.GetLinkDocument().ActiveProjectLocation.Name

#Append Output Lists	

ProjectLocation.Add(projloc)

OUT = ProjectLocation

from Czech Republic with love

You basically need to get each link as its own document then do a get these revit links from that linked document. I think this post will help you get towards your goal.