Get dialogue box with list of Element IDs

After I have filtered down to a list of elements which I want in a list, how can I create a list of their Element IDs which will show up in a dialogue box from which I can then copy and paste? I want to have a semi-colon as a separator between each Element ID as well to make it easy to paste into Revit’s “Select by ID” dialogue box. If this could be done with only a limited amount of Python and API usage I would appreciate it since I am just starting to learn how to use these. Thanks for any help!

Assuming you already have something like DataShapes or another package for presenting a dialog box, you just need to concatenate your list of elements (as Ids). You can use Element.Id and String.Join as a simple ootb node solution. If you want to do it all in python then you can loop through each element in your list and add to a running output. Start with an empty string like output = "". Then loop through your elements; for each element in the list combine output = output + ";" + element.Id to add to the list of Ids.

I do have DataShapes but have hardly used it. Is the MultipleInputForm++ a good node to use for this, or is there a better node in this package for a dialogue box to produce text values? I may try the Python method you explained, though that will take me a while since I don’t know how specifically how to make the loop you mention (outside of the two portions you detailed already).

Yes. It has a dialog box option. I believe Rhythm or Springs also has a (simpler) dialog box node, but it would probably be good to get comfortable with DataShapes. It’s very useful when it comes to custom inputs.

1 Like