Exterior finish of building faces (wall, beams, columns) script

Hi, I’ve been working on a script to create finishes (as thin walls) in exterior faces of buildings (the group of walls, beams and columns). It generates a surface that you have to export to .sat file and then you have to create a wall by face with it on Revit. Here it is:

I’ve tested it and it works when there are few elements selected, otherwise it doesn’t. The errors occur sorting the exterior curves of the polysurface in order to get a closed polycurve to create the new surface. I’m new in this, so I was wondering if there’s a simplier and better way or if anyone can please take a look for any correction.

Build a wall around the building’s perimeter then place a room between the “fence” and the building. Get the roombounding elements from that room.

2 Likes

Thanks, it seems like a simplier way to do it, but it needs some workarounds (like using the “fence” walls) and I don’t know if it works as I expect in all the scenarios. Is there any way to do it the way I’d planned it?

There is - but it is tedious.
You would need to do ray casting. Shoot a vector to the right and to the left from each wall - if it doesn’t cross another wall - it is exterior. If it does - then it is an interior wall or face. Maybe. It gets a little more complex if you have courtyards you want to work with or if you have a more complex footprint. Such as…

That will require some additional checking.

Room separation lines around the whole project and a temporary room do an excellent and quick job of finding the exterior of the building. I’d run with that.

1 Like