Excel.Write to File - Excel not populating after running

Hi all, I am new to dynamo and am trying to pull data from hand selecting plumbing fixtures and export that an excel sheet to allow for piping calculations. I have searched online multiple times and added certain items with no success. I am using dynamo 1.2.1.3083 and excel 2010. When i hit run, i get an excel write to file operation failed. I have also tried adding the path.to file input between the file path and excel.write to file but get input errors. What can i be missing here? Thanks in advance for any help you could provide.

I’m not sure, but try use Element.Type node :

Try and clear out the nulls. As of now you would only receive an excel file with no data in it, which may be why it is failing.

@til.shviger, i am trying to have the users select only certain fixtures within the model as you go. Then this information would be pushed to an excel sheet to size pipe as the user moves through the building. Element type would select more than what i am attempting to do wouldnt it?

@jacob.small, the only null i get is at the end when creating an excel sheet? I am, however, not sure why my lists arent giving me the actual data of the families - only providing me 0-4 lists in this case.

Im curious if i should be using excel 2013 in lieu of 2010…

im think at first step you are must get not empty data (get exist values of parameters)

and later ask about export them to excel

2 Likes

It appears that you are asking the elements (an instance) to give you a result for a type parameter. Ask @til.shviger suggested place an element.type node after the selection node to be able to get type parameter values.

1 Like

Alright, i now think i have it pulling the right data per type not instance. I think that now gets me to the export to excel error?

A few questions:

1. can you tell us what the error is now? Expand it and send a screenshot or copy paste.