Element.SetName not functioning

Newbie here again, has anyone encounter the problem that Element.SetName from clockwork is not functioning properly?
I’ve checked other posts and it seems to me that simple scripts like image 1 should work but actually aren’t.
i’m trying to sort beam families by their size, as shown in image 2, then rename the type name based on my on code, but it just never changes the type name, what am i doing wrong here?
On an urgent project, any help will be really appreciated.

Hey, whats the error saying in screenshot one? Might be worth updating clockwork I had a similar problem fixed by updating a package.

Can you share the Python.
If you are using it to concatonate 4 values, there’s also no need for a Python node but a simple Design Script will do

Nothing special in python node actually, i used a datashape node to allow user decide the code prefix and if they want the renamed code to include size (e.g a1 or a1 300*500), so ( boolean, code, sequence, size text) is taken as input. Just to make the dynamo script cleaner.

i’ve updated clockwork to the latest version 2.1.1, and i’m using dynamo 2.0.1 and revit 2018.
It doesn’t show error now, but still type name has not be changed

1 Like

Weird, tried to do some googling and it looks like a pretty vague node and people are using it to rename a bunch of things.

ikr, what i’m trying to do is quite alike to what you shared,i used it to rename family types and has worked properly by far, but it started to malfunction recently and the dynamo script which i used quite often can’t be manipulated, thus i’m panicking.

Ermm, could you attach the script. Il try running it

Here it is, thank you for your time and help.

BeamCode.dyn (166.0 KB)

Same issue :frowning:

tried working changing family name instead and no luck. Il try and get a guro over; maybe @jacob.small has any ideas

1 Like

thank you for your help,really appreciated.