Dynamo to load in families

Hi all

I am a novice user, and after help on the following, please if anyone has a script or guidance.

I am after some advice or a potential workflow on how to perform this within Dynamo.

I am looking for a way to load families from several different locations to our project when out of date with just one click of a button. Possibly using an excel file with each file path to be reloaded, then load these in using import. Excel.

Do we know how this can be done or advise?

Example
Structural Columns
R:\Revit\Design Data\Families\Structural Column\Cripple 01.rfa
R:\Revit\Design Data\Families\Structural Column\Willerby_Standard_Agnes_Rip_R18.rfa

Structural Framing
R:\Revit\Design Data\Families\Structural Framing\SheathingPanel.rfa
R:\Revit\Design Data\Families\Structural Framing\Square Cut Agnes Board.rfa
R:\Revit\Design Data\Families\Structural Framing\Willerby_Agnes_Panel_Horizontal.rfa
R:\Revit\Design Data\Families\Structural Framing\Willerby_Agnes_Track.rfa

Yes, it can be done. There are a couple custom packages out there that allow you to load families, such as Clockwork document.loadfamily and others that can pull lists from excel.

Workflow is you need to:

1. Get the excel workbook/spreadsheet (preloaded with info)
  2. Get the worksheet (you might need DataShapes or archi-lab here)
  3. Get file names and paths from the worksheet
  4. Send it to Clockwork’s document.loadfamily node

hi @dclunie,

I already made this script, please check this: load_families_excel.dyn (15.9 KB)

here is the dynamo script content:

here is the excel format:

cheers!

-biboy

Hi Thanks

For this it is great. I am having an issue with the Python node at the end please see screenshots.

Can you advise on what to do? I did assume it may be because I did not have Bumblebee installed?

1 Like

hi @dclunie

add this add the very top of the python script.

import sys
sys.path.append(r"C:\Program Files (x86)\IronPython 2.7\Lib")

-biboy

1 Like