Duplicate with Detailing TO Duplicate As Dependent TO adding Scope areas

I am fairly new to Revit and new to Dynamo. I have found some videos on creating duplicates as dependents and adding scope boxes to them as well as a video on how to rename your duplicates with detailing. When I run it now I get my renamed duplicates with detailing, but how do I merge my commands to add the scope boxes to the new duplicated with detailing views?

I tried uploading the file, but it says new users can’t upload.

Hello, welcome to the forums!

If you are new to Dynamo, please take the time to run through the Dynamo Primer. Some of the topics may not be immediately useful to you, but each section has a purpose and developing a baseline will save you time and stress in the long run.

When you run the Duplicate nodes, they will provide a list output of the elements they have created (the views)

You can actually feed this list into Element.SetParameterByName to then change the scope boxes for those newly created views. Just remember to have one scope box per dependent view prepared so that the list sizes are equal.

What do you mean by ‘change the scope boxes’? My end goal will be that it creates the new dependent views with the new names (floor plan, finish plan, etc), then under each of those creating duplicate as dependents views which are my 3 scope boxes (area 1, area 2, area 3).

What do you mean by ‘change the scope boxes’?

The duplicatebydependent / duplicatebydetailing nodes in your sketch function like the equivalent Revit commands, the new plans inherit things like View Template and Scope Box. You have to plug in the ‘correct’ scope boxes after the dependent views are made.

Just to make sure we are on the same page, is this your general plan:

1. For each level, make floor/finish/etc. plans.
  2. For each plan type (floor/finish/etc), make X number of dependent views, where X are your areas defined by scope boxes