Draw lines based on the elevational differences between two cogo points

Hi all,
I am very new to dynamo so please excuse my lack of dynamo terminology. so I have a cad file with a civil 3d surface and a grid of cogo points showing the elevations of the surface at the 10 ft by 10 ft grid. image “grid line 3”. am trying to create a script that automatically draw a 10 ft long line (thick red line) between two cogo points, but only draw the line if the elevational differences between the nearest two cogo points are greater than a certain value, say 0.02 ft (it’s a volumetric surface). I had to manually draw them and the process took hours.

I did try to create a script (see images grid line 1 and grid line 2), and was able to create an array of green lines seen in image grid line 3 (I intentionally rotated the green lines so they dont overlap with the grid lines). I used the line by point length direction node but looking back now, maybe i should have used the line by two points? will linebytwopoints also create a nice array of lines?

(side note: please help me understand how did the “line.bypointlengthdirection” node create an array of line and didn’t mix up the northing and easting, meaning how come it didn’t pick the northing of point 1 and say easting of point 2 which would completely mess up the grid, but instead it created a grid of lines using all the cogopoints)

When creating a series of blocks to conditionally create lines between two adjacent points if the elevational difference is more than 0.02 ft, I got lost with the data collection and logic operations. could someone shed some light on this part please. Thanks a bunch.

Sorry, the forum only allows me to attach one image at a time because i am a new user. here is image grid line 2

and grid line 3. Thank you.

Hi,
I have two questions: