Demonstrating and explaining what Dynamo is

Hi experts,

I am an intern at a building company and I am currently doing a research on proces optimalisation by implementing Dynamo in the current workflow. (mostly focused on automating repetitive tasks, placing elements with coordinates, easily adjustable gridlines, etc.)
I am willing to organize a meeting for the BIM-engineers and give them a brief demonstration and introduce them with Dynamo. So that they understand the very basics of Dynamo if they ever decide to fully dive into it.
My question is: What topics do you think are essential in covering the basics of Dynamo?

I was thinking about explaining the following;

• The User Interface (UI)
  • Adding nodes to the workspace
  • Nodes Inputs/Outputs/Name & the Dynamo Player
  • Packages
  • Creating Groups of nodes
  • The difference between ‘Create’, ‘Action’ and ‘Query’ nodes
  • Managing lists with data, null values, filtering etc.
  • Booleans
  • Integers, strings
  • vectors, points, curves and the coordinate system

Followed by a little demonstration with a blank workspace where I create a rectangular placement of walls by using the combination of points to polycurves, using sliders to demonstrate the movement.

Am I missing some important topics for the basics? Your feedbacks are appreciated!

Thank you in advance,

Selim

1 Like
  • Time gain (compare dynamo to manual)
  • Get parameter value, set parameter value
  • Create Sheets with Views on it
  • Create views parallel/perpendicular to an object (all doors and windows)

I named a few

1 Like

It sounds like you’re trying to do two things at once, which I think could actually do more harm than help.

1. Sell them on the benefits of using Dynamo for everyday workflows
  2. Give introductory training on the basics for actually using Dynamo