Create a view filter for a dropdown parameter

I am trying to use Dynamo to make a view filter, using the below nodes.

This will create a filter but assigns no value to the filter, the issue I believe is that Dynamo does not like working with dropdown parameters. I have decided to try hardcoding this process using Python, but I have never used Python before and don’t know how to go about fixing what I have to actually work.

import clr
clr.AddReference("RevitServices")
from RevitServices.Persistence import DocumentManager
from RevitServices.Transactions import TransactionManager
doc = DocumentManager.Instance.CurrentDBDocument
clr.AddReference("RevitAPI")
from Autodesk.Revit.DB import *
import System
from System.Collections.Generic import List

# The inputs to this node will be stored as a list in the IN variables.
dataEnteringNode = IN

# Declare all inputs
cats = IN[0]
pValue = IN[1]

# Start a transaction
TransactionManager.Instance.EnsureInTransaction(doc)

try:
	pName = "Reference Level"
	param = None
	collector = FilteredElementCollector(doc).OfClass(ParameterElement)
	for p in collector:
		if p.Name == pName:
			param = p
			break

if param:
		# Create List of category ID's
		catList = [ElementId(i.Id) for i in cats]
		typedCatList = List[ElementId](catList)

# Create the filter rule
		rule = FilterStringRule(param.Id, ParameterValueProvider(param.Id), pValue, False, 1)

# Create the filter with a name based on pValue
		fName = str(pValue) + " Dynamo 3D View"
		filter = ParameterFilterElement.Create(doc, fName, typedCatList)
		filter.SetElementFilter(rule)

# Create a new 3D View	
		view3D = View3D.CreateIsometric(doc, ElementId.InvalidElementId)
		view3D.Name = fName

# Assign the filter to the view
		view3D.AddFilter(filter.Id)

# Set the filter's visibility to false
		doc.ActiveView.SetFilterVisibilty(filter.Id, False)

OUT = filter

else:
		OUT = "Parameter not found. Parameter Name: {}".format(pName)

except Exception as e: